Study of Several Trees

After a couple of false starts, due to the weather, I ventured into the garden and quickly sketched a couple of options:

Yep, they were pretty bad and I suddenly felt quite overwhelmed with this and did not know where to begin. There are a lot of trees around my house and in surrounding fields but they all seem to blend into one. Not sure how to proceed, I took a couple of photos to help me choose an area to focus on. I pulled an image up onto the computer and decided to have a go, not feeling very hopeful about it, just as the clouds rolled in and the rain started. I felt like I had nothing to lose but draw straight from the photograph and I wasn’t feeling very hopeful.

photo-30-05-2017-10-06-32.jpg

It was hard to know where the start but I went with the contrast between light and shade, using chalk pastels because I really did not know how to draw leaves. Pastel is perfect for landscape and if you don’t want to draw fine details, which I was keen to avoid.

I have spent a few hours on this, and I’m not sure if I’m completely happy with it but I felt the need to stop, possibly having gone too far now!

Photo 31-05-2017, 16 30 20

trees in chalk pastel

To distinguish the trees I smudged the ones in the background, to make them look less distinct and darker, and hopefully fade somewhat, whilst the two at the front were lighter and show more detail, and are not as blurry.

To show the mass of foliage I really just went for large areas of colour. showing the small bits of sky that poked through some of the branches.

I used yellows and white to show where the light was hitting the trees, as there are a few trees, and they’re quite tall, there was a clear view of sunlight on the two trees in the foreground.

I have definitely simplified the leaves as there is such a lot of foliage going on, the trees are close together and leaves are overlapping. I have almost obliterated the garage as I thought it would be too distracting so kept it dark to blend into the background.

In future, I need to not panic when drawing outside, trees are a very new subject and I probably need to use the view finder and get more comfortable.

2 thoughts on “Study of Several Trees

  1. Fantastic. I have just been to the Highlands, my daughter and wife climbed Ben Nevis, but when driving around, one of the things that struck me was how many different greens there are in the foliage!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

