Larger Observational Study of an Individual Tree

I have randomly been taking photos of trees for a long time, even before I started this course, as a consequence I have got them a bit muddled in my head. I thought this tree was local to me but, going through my archive, I realised this was from Parkanaur Forest Park in Dungannon, County Tyrone. We stopped briefly on the way back from a weekend in Belfast recently. Some of the trees here are hundreds of years old, and there is a herd of rare white fallow deer,  so a great place to stop.

I had this tree in my mind so when this exercise came around I knew this was the tree I wanted to draw. It’s obviously an old tree, the bark is very textured and peeling off, and the trunk is covered in moss and plant life, so much to draw!

I used a 0.5 mm lead mechanical pencil, which is good for precision and drawing detail. I probably spent a couple of hours on it as I got quite involved in the minutiae, which I enjoyed but, when I realised how much time had passed, I wanted it to end.

Photo 26-05-2017, 11 54 44

tree in mechanical pencil

This was a fabulous tree to work on as there was so much going on with texture and material but it probably took too long. Whilst the details were time consuming, it was enjoyable to draw, and an opportunity to make a variety of marks. There is a balance to be found between time taken and detail and I’m still working on finding that. Overall an interesting challenge.

Leave a Reply

