Sketches

The sketchbooks are evading me, I don’t know why, perhaps because I don’t draw idly but am quite focused; when I plan to draw,  I draw. My tutor has advised me to get into the habit so I’m trying to do just that. Perhaps if I think of them as prep sketches, maybe that will help? Anyway, I am drawing random fruits and veg at the moment as I’m working my way through part two.

Photo 10-03-2017, 10 56 03

Lemons

photo-10-03-2017-10-55-46.jpg

pineapple

Photo 09-03-2017, 11 28 47

Hairy coconut

Even just sketching quickly throws up a few issues, keeping proportion right, perspecive on the chopping board, pressing too hard or using the wrong pencil.

2 thoughts on “Sketches

  1. Nice lively little sketches. I particularly like the loose work on the outside of your coconut.

    You say “am quite focused; when I plan to draw, I draw.” Some thoughts must have gone into the plan; “maybe I will try to do this this way for this exercise” or “last time I discovered that “xxx” didn’t work so perhaps if I try “yyy” instead” type of thoughts. This is possibly what your tutor is looking for. And a few short notes about why you are trying just this method or material, what went right, what went wrong, where this learning could be used later, etc.

    In my experience, it is your thoughts and creativity and learning experience they seem to be looking for in sketch books, not a perfect drawing. And I have found that I get a lot out of it myself when I look back through my sketchbooks “Oh, yes, I thought that and tried that for that exercise – I wonder if it would work for this exercise too if I just change it a bit in this way” type of thoughts.

    Yes, thinking of them as prep sketches will probably help, anyway it works for me.

    Like

    1. thank you Gwenyth for your advice, that’s so helpful. I do feel like I need a bit of help in this area so all advice is appreciated. It is tricky thinking and writing about sketching, so I need to ask myself questions and also not be worried about perfect sketches.

      Like

Leave a Reply

